The last post of MMO misanthrope.

There comes a time when what you used to love has changed too much to continue with. When I first started posting, it was in reaction to discovering the MMO Blogosphere, and I was deeply in love with Final Fantasy XI, a game I played for over five years of my life.

As I posted, and read other people’s thoughts, I came to realize I was done with FFXI, and entered the greater world of MMOs. But I struggled to find a game to play. Mabinogi, then Fallen Earth, then Aion, then EVE, then Champions Online. I briefly played Age of Conan, DDO, World of Warcraft, and a few other F2P games. I entered my first beta, Metaplace.

I couldn’t fit into any of those games.

Maybe it was because of my first games: Phantasy Star Online, Everquest Online Adventures, and FFXI. Maybe it was just change over time. I changed, but the games didn’t. Maybe it was how people changed, where everyone became a bit more closed to each other, and the days of small, fun game communities folded under the weight of needing hundreds of thousands of people.

I don’t know. But I do know this, that there isn’t anything I am looking forwards to for the first time of my gaming life. TOR, GW, and the Secret World don’t interest me in the least. They are too much like Rift. Small, safe changes and building on solid foundations. This may be wise marketing and planning, but it’s death to the soul.

There are three options to this. One is to be a gadfly, constantly complaining and hoping for meaningful change. One is to shut up and accept that life is different. The third is to walk away.

I choose the third.

Part of it is due to time. MMO generations are starting to approach real life generations. Games are lasting 7 years or more. That’s an awful long time to complain, or to settle. With consoles, 7 years has real difference. A RPG like Orphen on the PS2 is much less complex or as good looking as Persona 3. But with MMOs there is precious little change. A game now has little functional difference than a game released ten years ago.

Another aspect is a different side of time. A lot of people think that the best way to solve the problem I face is by going back to the classic, hard core experience. Wolfshead, for example. The problem with this is that I can’t also go back to my 18 year old self who had no problem with spending 6-8 hours grinding mobs or waiting for pops. Time always advances, and it isn’t kind. I can’t even so much as look at a SNK super combo without my wrists complaining.

These two reasons are why I’m hanging it up for good. I’ve canceled all my subs, and only will play Champions Online as a virtual chat room, to see and rp with friends. This blog will be shuttered, and I’ll stop posting on Massively. With good timing, Syp transferred his blog post about finding wonder to Massively, giving me a nice post to go out on.

I’ll be dumping the Twitter account too. It’s been great, even if I have been too lazy in posting and controversial in topic. Thanks to Tesh, Dril, and Drew for the fine comments, and take care all.

7 Responses to The last post of MMO misanthrope.

  1. Tesh says:

    Life goes on, eh? Here’s hoping the rest of it treats you well. I hear you on this, and I wish you well. it’s been fun. :)

  2. Dril says:

    Damn.

    That’s all, really, and thanks for the shout :P As Tesh said, keep on livin’, man, and it’s a real pity about both the blog and the severity of your malaise with the genre.

    And, hey, if I ever pop back into CO again I might bump into you.

    /salute

  3. Wolfshead says:

    It will be sad to see you leave. There is not a day that goes by that I consider shutting down my blog. I can barely find the urge to write about MMOs these days.

    The real world is so much more rewarding and filled with more wonder and awe than any virtual world. There is nothing wrong with leveling up there either :)

    I think the MMO genre is basically done; somebody should put a fork in it. The smart people left the genre years ago after they realized how false and empty it truly is.

    I hope you will keep on commenting. We need more honest voices such as yourself!

    *salutes*

  4. psycros says:

    You’ll be missed. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on gaming..definitely a cut above average. And I agree that the genre is stagnant, due almost entirely to publisher greed. The game is so stratified between casual and hardcore with very little in between. I’m still praying for the “good” Eve-type game, but the industry looks at something with 100K users and concludes, “duuuh, see? Nobody wants to play dat!” And that’s the extent of their reasoning, because the empty suits making the big decisions aren’t gamers. Right now I should be playing FFXIV, but we all know how that turned out (although the reasons why are murky at best). It was almost enough to drive me away from MMOs for good. Still, I hold out hope that somewhere a couple of guys are hacking away on a fantastic MMO, maybe on their own time. And with any luck it will get picked up by a company who won’t demand it be retooled into another WoW clone.

    Hope life treats you well.

  5. Drew says:

    I am way, way late in replying here, but mainly because I’d reached the same point with MMOs. I’m pinning my last hopes on Prime: BFD at this point, but reading through CRPGaddict’s blog posts today, I’m reminded what I think I really missed about RPGs. [Tactics and story]. Maybe MMOs just aren’t for me at all, anymore.

    • Drew says:

      And I submitted that well before I was ready. Ha, oh well.

      Thanks for the shout out, and I hope you’re enjoying your free time. Take Care!

  6. I read too many blogs, so I didn’t see this until now. I’m sure this is going into the void, but I wanted to saw how much I enjoyed your comments on my blog. Hopefully something might inflame your passions, even if it’s beyond the MMO space.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

