Five Ip’s and Five more.

Jon Wood at MMORPG.com has an interesting editorial about 5 IPs designed to bring in more female gamers here. They are somewhat bland. It’s just as easy to list them:

  1. Harry Potter
  2. Lego
  3. Star Trek
  4. Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys
  5. Sims.

A sixth one that recurs a lot in the comment thread is Pokemon, but good luck with that, considering Nintendo is still painfully slow at making online anything. My thoughts are that they are good picks, but didn’t the Sims Online fail? As for Nancy Drew maybe, but I don’t think any boy reads the Hardy Boys. I’ll add my own five designed to reach the female demographic:

  1. Kingdom Hearts. Bigger than Harry Potter IMO in terms of MMO draw.
  2. Harvest Moon. Farming is the next big thing.
  3. Disgaea. D0od. Prinnies transcend gender divides.
  4. .hack. Mostly because the series tends to have strong female characters, and the meta-game aspect would be fun.
  5. American Girl. This is a long shot, but a historically based MMO targeting that audience would have little competition, especially id marketed smartly.

What do you think?

4 Responses to Five Ip’s and Five more.

  1. Tesh says:

    Kingdom Hearts, yes. Please.

    I’ve written about Harvest Moon online, as have Wiqd and Capn’ John (the latter spurred my thoughts). Yes, please.

    Disgaea? I’m loving the DS version. I’d try out an MMO version. Prinnies rule.

    .hack would work, if you’re careful not to make the metagame too obvious to the detriment of the main game.

    American Girl? Hmm… while I love history, would that work as a game?

  2. I hope they never make a Kingdom Hearts MMO. Why? Purely selfish reasons. I don’t want to have to quit my job, divorce my wife, and put my potentially existing children up for adoption.

    I’m doing well not to buy the new DS game and live in it for a while. An MMO would leave me with no hope.

    But seriously…a Kingdom Hearts MMO would be one of the most rich and diverse game worlds I can think of, right alongside the Stargate Worlds MMO that was canned.

  3. Dblade says:

    I’m not sure how it would work Tesh, because it’s really not the type I’d play. But if Hello Kitty Online can, it can’t be that impossible. I was thinking more of reaching a demographic that others wouldn’t.

    Professor Beej, yes, it would truly suck the free time out of all of us. At http://member.square-enix.com/na/ they have an avatar creator that you can tweak to make vaguely KH-looking people for their web community, and I can see both that and Party Castle’s systems showing what one might look like. Licensing issues would be a problem I bet though.

  4. Tesh says:

    True enough. It’s a demographic that would benefit from something other than HKO or whatever other sappy nonsense comes down the pipe. American Girl tends to be a bit more “down to earth”. Of course, now I’m wondering about an Oregon Trail MMO. 😉

Leave a Reply

