Game over, man.

I unsubbed from Aion after 16 days. Not only that, I made sure to uninstall it. Reasons?

-God awful, stupid grind that is halted by random PvP that is biased in favor of the attacker.

-PvP system which is busted: based on level, stealth, random number generators, stunlocking, zerging, etc.

-Dull PvE: doing instances I got actually bored. Despite doing them for the first time.

-Insane economy.

I just had it. I’m glad I stopped it, it was just such an insane grind that real life was starting to suffer. It would be okay if PvP were exciting, but it was so much of me either getting jumped and stunlocked while grinding, or being killed by people ten levels above me when I got frisky and tried rifts or abyss. I don’t think Aion will survive to 2.0.

Thing is now I have no idea what to do. I don’t want to go back to Champions, and I think I’m running out of sub games to play. I was enthusiastic about Tera, but if its anything like this I don’t want to even touch it now.

7 Responses to Game over, man.

  1. Dril says:

    Pity, I was actually looking forward to reading about the endgame to see what it really is like, although you’ve kind of answered that anyway with the PvP gameplay.

    Speaking of MMOs, what have/haven’t you played? I always end up back to WoW but I’ve played pretty much every major P2P MMO to some extent.

  2. Dblade says:

    Endgame was mostly fort battles and grinding for gear from what I heard. The only thing that sounded interesting was Dredgion, a PvPvE team instance where you fought each other. A surprising amount of 50s seemed to just stay in primium dueling.

    I’ve played phantasy star online, phantasy star universe, Everquest Online Adventures, Final Fantasy XI, champions online, EVE, Fallen Earth, Aion, Earth Eternal, and Mabinogi. With me the “main” MMO was FXI, and I’ve been looking through different ones to find a home. I spent over 3 years on it.

  3. Drew says:

    I, too, have played AION and started originally in FFXI. The former holds little interest for me as you’ve nailed just about every problem with it.

    I actually just re-subbed to the latter in anticipation of FFXIV and to get back the feeling of purpose in an MMO. Combat is just flat-out too fast in games these days, and while I’m enjoying Fallen Earth immensely, it’s primarily from a plot/crafting point of view – not the combat.

    In hindsight, I wish I’d never left FFXI, but real life got too busy and WoW was more accessible at the time.

    • Dblade says:

      I understand. I’m still tempted to go back myself some days, but I accomplished all that I can, and with all the present and upcoming changes it wouldn’t be the same. Plus, I played in on PS2 and from what I understand the PS2 version is dead, since Sony is shutting down the DNAS servers for PS2 players. It really was a great game, and I’m waiting for FFXIV too.

      • Drew says:

        The PC controls are horrid for FFXI; I went out and bought a $25 Lucent GamePad yesterday and it made all the difference in the world. I feel like I’m playing on my old PS2 with better graphics.

  4. Dblade says:

    How’s performance? I used to play both PS2 and 360 versions of FFXI and the 360 version was slow and clunky as heck. Is the PC closer to the 360 version or PS2 if you played it?

  5. Drew says:

    I only managed to get about an hour of play in, but running as a DNC/BST with limited macros set up, I didn’t notice any difference from that and my PS2 days. Response was normal from all the button pushes, analog joystick turns, and macros. No choppiness in the landscape, either, and I’ve got the game running on pretty good settings (1600×900 screen, 1024×1024 overlay or whatever it’s called); I’ve not gotten around to trying any of the RegEdit stuff to improve it even more.

    Never played on the XBox, so I can’t really compare it to that. Played a couple years on PS2, briefly on PC mouse/keyboard (never again), and now the gamepad.

Leave a Reply

