Think I might have found a solution to CPU spiking.

I wrote earlier that I was having trouble with CPU spiking causing a lot of heat. I think I found a solution.

There’s one svchost. exe process  in windows 7 that takes up roughly 80k of memory. It is used by multiple services: windows audio endpoint builder, superfetch, and most importantly two homegroup processes. The homegroup processes are what I think are causing the spiking. They are to allow you to share stuff as part of a group: you disable them  from starting up in control panel->admin tools, and stop the processes in task manager. It seems to be working: cpu spikes are down and the fan hasn’t sounded as much. Time will tell though.

Leave a Reply

