Quote of the morning

Faelan, from a forum thread on MMORPG.com about Cata PUGs:

Oh, but I can join a GOOD guild. Joining a GOOD Guild ™ solves everything. It cures cancer. It brings world peace. It solves the global warming. It even feeds the hungry children in Africa. Problem is finding one AND have it stay alive. You think you have found it after going through a pile of crap. Everything is peachy and you start getting somewhere in the grand scheme of things. Then some asshat decides to level his dramaqueen skill to 525 and you have this epic failure cascade that sends the whole affair straight to the guild graveyard. Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for GOOD guilds and people having fun together, but when the game gets to the point where it requires a GOOD guild in order to be truly enjoyed and those are hard to come by, then there’s something wrong with the game and the community as such.

As a FFXI guild vet I agree. I think way too much emphasis is placed on guild selection and grouping with proper people, rather than casting a wide net and enjoying the game with others. The harder you make content, the more closed the game becomes, as people need to make connections to play as opposed to making them organically.

3 Responses to Quote of the morning

  1. Dril says:

    PRECISELY why I so detest the cross-realm part of the dungeon finder. I posted about it on the Rift beta forums about not-having one and people were like “join a good guild.” Great, thanks for the advice…how do I join one? Fill out an app? That particular method is hit and miss at best, and the best guilds I’ve been in didn’t require me to fill out an “official” app.

    And yeah, I agree, there is too much emphasis on getting a “good guild,” although perhaps not unjustly. Guilds really do make the game, when content and gameplay run out.

    AND I raid about an hour too early for the vast majority of guilds (can you believe that everyone raids from like 8-11 GMT?) Blah.

    • Dblade says:

      That was sort of my issue with EVE too, EVE is very pickup unfriendly since players can, well…blast you to atoms for the lulz.

      Mentioning Rift perks my interest. Is the community at odds? I seem to keep seeing posts and articles about a lot of disagreement between styles of players based on their previous games played before coming there.

      • Dril says:

        That’s basically it. Idiots who read nothing about the “just like current MMOS part” and come from EQ2 and EQ1 and a few other titles are all crying about what are, by now, themepark staples (GCD, quest hubs etc) and the real feedback needed is being lost by a huge wave of negative crying about the game not having a “feeling of adventure” or something along those lines.

        I have to say though, I agree with some of their points now. There really is no reason to leave WoW atm for Rift; before Cata I would have said otherwise, but there’s absolutely no way Rift can out-WoW WoW now. Which is a pity, because I was all ready and willing to play Rift.

Leave a Reply

